CYC Chair and Vice-Chair Elections

It’s that time of year again!


On Wednesday, June 12th 2019 Cardiff Youth Council (CYC) elections for Chair and Vice-Chair took place with 6 candidates putting themselves forward for election. All candidates delivered a speech, in front of CYC, to say why they wanted to, and should be, elected as Chair or Vice-Chair. They also took questions from members about how committed to the role they will be, ideal characteristics of a chair and what drives them in life.

This year the following people stood for the positions of Chair & Vice-Chair of CYC:

  • Lois Render
  • Ben Wiltshire
  • Fahadi Mukulu
  • Rose Melhuish
  • Lechy O’Hare
  • Evan Hansen

CYC and the Active Involvement Team (AIT) congratulate all candidates for putting themselves forward in such a courageous way, for delivering some inspiring speeches and answering all questions that CYC put forward.

Fahadi Mukulu and Rose Melhuish were duly elected as Chair and Vice-Chair of CYC.


AIT & CYC would like to take this opportunity to thank Tom Allabarton and Yasmin Bahary for their time as Chair and Vice-Chair as unfortunately they are leaving us to attend university. We would like to wish them the very best of luck in their future endeavours.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.